The Bonn Agreement is the mechanism by which nine Governments of the Greater North Sea and its wider approaches, together with the European Union, cooperate in dealing with pollution of the North Sea by oil and other harmful substances. The signatories to the Agreement are the Governments of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the French Republic, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Ireland, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Kingdom of Norway, the Kingdom of Sweden, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the European Union.

The Bonn Agreement covers the Greater North Sea and its Wider Approaches. This area includes the North Sea proper, the Skagerrak, the English Channel and its approaches and other waters comprising the Irish Sea, the Celtic Sea, the Malin Sea, the Great Minch, the Little Minch, part of the Norwegian Sea, and parts of the North East Atlantic.

Inside About

Contracting Parties

The North Sea is divided into different zones where the responsibility for the surveillance and assessment of incidents is assigned to Bonn Agreement members.



The Bonn Agreement may also grant observer status to other States or International Intergovernmental Organisations.



The Bonn Agreement is the oldest regional agreement established by governments for responding to pollution incidents.


How the Bonn Agreement works

The work of the Bonn Agreement is formally governed by the Rules of Procedure.


North Sea

The Greater North Sea and its Wider Approaches is one of the busiest sea areas in the world with many commercial interests vying for space alongside the need for nature protection and space for recreational activities.



The Bonn Agreement Secretariat is based in London, United Kingdom.


Links to other organisations

Below are links to other maritime organisations and bodies