What is the Bonn Agreement?

The Bonn Agreement is the mechanism by which ten Governments, together with the European Union, cooperate in dealing with pollution of the North Sea by oil and other harmful substances. The signatories to the Agreement are the Governments of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the French Republic, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Ireland, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Kingdom of Norway, the Kingdom of Sweden, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the European Union. Spain was welcomed as a Bonn Agreement Contracting Party at a ministerial meeting in 2019

Find out more about us

The Bonn Agreement is engaged in a number of activities

Contracting Parties

10 different countries and the European Union work together as Contracting Parties to the Bonn Agreement.

Find Out More

Our Vision

The vision of the Bonn Agreement is a Greater North Sea and its Approaches free from accidental and illegal pollution from shipping, offshore oil and gas operations and other maritime activities. To work towards this goal the Agreement undertakes a range of activities within the framework of prevention, preparedness and response.

Find out how we work

We produce a number of publications

Our Meetings

The Bonn Agreement holds a number of meetings each year. To register for a meeting or to access meeting documents, please visit our meetings page.

Visit our Meetings Page